PTCL organizes Inter-Telecom Table Tennis and Badminton League

PTCL organizes Inter-Telecom Table Tennis and Badminton League

Islamabad, May 6, 2018:PTCL organized Inter-Telecom Table Tennis and Badminton League which was held at Rodham Hall, Sports Complex, Islamabad. The four-day event that began on May 2, comprised 8 teams from Pakistan’s leading telecommunications companies. These teams participated in the Men’s and Women’s categories.

Commenting on PTCL’s lead in holding the tournament, Syed Mazhar Hussain, CHRO, PTCL said, “Let me congratulate PTCL, NTC & Huawei teams for being the champions of Badminton, PTCL and Jazz Teams for Table Tennis and its players for emerging as the well-deserved winners. I would like to appreciate all the participants for exhibiting true sportsman spirit and enthusiastically contributing towards making this tournament a success. It is pertinent to mention here that creating healthy competition in the sporting arena is PTCL’s hallmark. Such activities will bring the telecom sector employees closer and will enable us to promote a healthy sporting culture.”

The tournament pulled large crowds including families and youth. All the teams displayed true sportsmanship, yet the tournament witnessed hard-fought contests and exciting individual performances.  

PTCL has played a vital role in developing a culture of sports activities within the organization. Earlier this year, a mega sports gala was organized by the company in Islamabad during which employees and their families participated in a variety of sporting activities.

PTCL has been sponsoring key sports as part of its contribution towards building a healthy Pakistan. It recently sponsored a T20 tournament for disabled cricketers. The company sponsored Pakistan cricket team’s bilateral T20 series in New Zealand and also sponsored a Hockey Hall of Fame World XI tour to Pakistan.  PTCL co-sponsored Islamabad United lifted the glittering PSL-3 trophy in March 2018, thus replicating its effort in the inaugural season of Pakistan’s premier T20 league.